Carrington Girls Hoops Take Third Straight District 5 Title


JAMESTOWN, N.D. ( The Carrington girls basketball won their third consecutive Class B District 5 Championship Monday night, with a win over LaMoure-Litchville/Marion. Edgeley/Kulm/Montpelier and Oakes are joining Carrington and LLM at the Region III tournament later this month.

Regional Qualifier: #4 Edgeley/Kulm/Montpelier 53 Ellendale 17

The game was won by the Rebels in the second quarter, outscoring the Cardinals 16-1 in eight minute stretch, and by shooting almost double the percentage from the field.

EKM had a pair of players with 10 points each: Katie Entzi and Kaitlyn Schiele. Ellendale was lead by Alyssa Nishek’s seven points.

Regional Qualifier: Oakes 61 Barnes County North 48

Nicole Schmitz registered a double-double with a team high 26 points and 11 rebounds to propel the Tornadoes to their second straight regional tournament appearance. Oakes also was able to shoot better than 50 percent from the field for the game, to the Bison’s 32 percent.

Ashley Samek lead BCN with 21 points, which features four of nine from beyond the arc.

Championship: #7 Carrington 61 #3 LaMoure-Litchville/Marion 54

For the second consecutive game, the Cardinals defeated a team by a sizable margin that was ranked higher than them in the state rankings.

Carrington had three players with more than 10 points; Emerson Hoornaert (16), Bella Hone (14) and McKenzie Johnson (11). LLM, who defeated Carrington in the regular season, was only six of 22 from three point land, had a team high 26 points from Anna Holen.

The 2018 Class B Region III Tournament runs Monday, Tuesday and Thursday February 19, 20 and 22 at the Jamestown Civic Center. The first game at 3 features Carrington and Napoleon-Gackle/Streeter. Around 4:30, Kidder County faces Edgeley/Kulm/Monpelier. The 6 p.m. game will see #2 Medina-Pingree/Buchanan go against Oakes, and at 7:30, LaMoure-Litchville/Marion meets Linton-HMB.

District 5 All-Tournament Team

EKM: Kaitlyn Schiele, Katie Entzieh and Tallie Hansen
LLM: Ellie Holen, Anna Holen and Jackie Meiklejohn
Carrington: McKenzie Johnson and Emerson Hoornaert
Oakes: Nicole Schmitz and Sadie Hansen

Senior Athlete of the Year: Anna Holen of LLM

Coach of the Year: Mitch Carlson of LLM

Athletic Director of the Year: Lucas Issacson of LLM

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.

National News

National Sports