Knights, Wildcats, Indians & Hornets Move on to Region IV Girls Tourney


MADDOCK, N.D.  (  The third and final day of the District VII Class B Girls Basketball Tourney was held at Maddock High School on Monday with three games.  The first two were region four qualifying games and the last one the championship. Here are the results:

Dakota Prairie 55 New Rockford/Sheyenne 54 (Region 4 qualifier)

The first game of the day featured three ties and five lead changes, the Knights of DP led by one point after one quarter of play, 10-9, and wouldn’t take the lead again until the fourth quarter as the Rockets would outscore the Knights 18-13 to take a 27-23 lead at halftime.

Sophomore Carly Lippert helped the Knights take the lead in the fourth by putting up two 3-pointers.  Shaye Frederick also had four points for DP in the fourth.  With just :02 seconds left in the fourth quarter and the Knights leading by three points, the Rockets would in bounce the ball about mid-court, Sophomore Hannah Haley would drive to the bucket and hit a desperation shot at the buzzer right by the three-point line, but not quite a 3-ball that was needed to tie. NRS ends their season at 8-14 overall, DP improves to 6-16 overall and will move into the Region IV tourney in Devils Lake on Monday, February 19th.

Benson County 43 Lakota 34 (Region 4 qualifier)

The Lakota Raiders end their season at 7-14.  BC improves to 11-11 and will play at the Region IV tourney.

Harvey/Wells County 36 Four Winds/Minnewaukan 32 (championship)

Karlie Dockter had nine points as did Jaye Fike for the Hornets and No. 2 Harvey/Wells County wins their second consecutive District VII championship Monday night over No. 1 Four Winds/Minn.  Myona Dauphinais led the way for the Indians with nine points. HWC improves to 13-9, FWM drops to 15-6.


Hannah Hailey – New Rockford/Sheyenne

Carly Lippert – Dakota Prairie

Latasha Bellile – Four Winds/Minnewaukan

McKayla Jones – Harvey/Wells County

Dani Schwanke – Benson County

Senior Athlete of the Year – Dani Schwanke, Benson County

Coach of the Year – Sean Gourd, Four Winds/Minn.

Athletic Director of the Year – Elliot Belquist, New Rockford/Sheyenne



Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.

National News

National Sports