Valley City High School Speech Team Results


FARGO, N.D. ( – The Valley City High School Speech Team traveled to the EDC Regional Speech Tournament held April 7 at Fargo North High School.

At the EDC Tournament students are allowed to do 2 events each and each school may enter no more than 4 entries in each of the 14 categories. Valley City brought a maximum amount of 56 entries. The Hi-Liner Speech Team had a very successful tournament advancing 37 entries to the NDHSAA Class A Speech Tournament April 21st in Jamestown.

Additionally, 7 Hi-Liners were named champions or co-champions in their events. In order to qualify for state, students must place in the top half of contestants. On the team side, Valley City won its 4th consecutive EDC Title with 160 sweepstakes points, beating out second place Fargo Davies who had 76 sweepstakes points. Kelsey Johnson (West Fargo-Sheyenne) was named EDC Coach of the Year.

Full Results for the Hi-Liners are:

Radio Broadcasting: Eliza Johnson (State Qualified), Makayla Nehlich (State Qualified), John Lahlum (7th and State Qualified-tie), Jacob Jenness (7th and State Qualified-tie)

Dramatic: Madi Klabo (5th and State Qualified), Lillian Kiefert (3rd and State Qualified), Rose Marcellus (1st and State Qualified-tie), David Opdahl (1st and State Qualified-tie)

Persuade: Abby Slyter (5th and State Qualified), Libby Borg (4th and State Qualified)

Serious Duo: Morgan Jenner/David Opdahl (4th and State Qualified), Abby Slyter/Rose Marcellus (1st and State Qualified), Maggie Oberlander/Eliza Johnson (1st and State Qualified)

Impromptu: Libby Borg (6th and State Qualified)

Storytelling: Jack Jordan (2nd and State Qualified), Sophie Boe (1st and State Qualified)

Serious: Brooke Ask (6th and State Qualified), Emma Langemo (5th and State Qualified), Jack Jordan (4th and State Qualified), Maggie Oberlander (1st and State Qualified)

Inform: Dylan Quick (State Qualified), Makayla Nehlich (8th and State Qualified)

Humorous Duo: Talia Germann/Andrew King (State Qualified), Katy Borg/Amelia Meester (6th and State Qualified), Elizabeth Gazeley/Katy Meester (5th and State Qualified), Brooke Ask/Cassie Mundal (2nd and State Qualified)

Humorous: Skye Auka (State Qualified), Jacob Jenness (5th and State Qualified), Andrew King (2nd and State Qualified), Monisha Terry (1st and State Qualified)

Entertain: Dylan Quick (8th and State Qualified), Elizabeth Gazeley (6th and State Qualified)

Poetry: Gabriella Shipp (State Qualified), Monisha Terry (5th and State Qualified)

EPR: Olivia Slyter (State Qualified), Katy Meester (5th and State Qualified)

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.

National News

National Sports