WASHINGTON, DC (NewsDakota.com) – Several area counties have been listed as available to receive disaster funding from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

The USDA is currently accepting applications for the Community Facilities Program totaling $150 million for assistance nationwide. These funds may be used for relief in rural communities recovering from natural disasters. Local counties available for funding include:

· Barnes
· Dickey
· Emmons
· LaMoure
· Logan
· Richland
· Sargent
· Steele

“We recognize the tough times facing rural America, which is why we worked to provide these USDA funds to assist our communities as they recover from the losses and challenges caused by natural disasters, like flooding,” said Senator John Hoeven.

Over 100 types of projects are eligible and grant applications will be accepted at USDA state offices until the funds have been exhausted. Those eligible to apply include municipalities, public bodies, non-profit organizations and federally recognized Native American tribes.

Funds are rewarded on a graduated scale and were included in the Additional Supplemental Appropriations for Disaster Relief Act, which the President signed into law on June 6, 2019.ons through