VALLEY CITY, N.D. ( – Valley City High School will be represented in the North Dakota All-State band and choir with the selection of 8 students to the ensembles.

Theo Herzog (percussion) and Owen Plagens (trombone) will be the VCHS students participating in the ND All-State Band.

Elizabeth Gazeley, Britta Roehrich, James Burk, Daniel Wintch, and Jonathan Redfearn (3 year member) will be the VCHS students participating in the ND All-State Mixed Choir.

Taylen Mendoza will be the VCHS student participating in the ND All-State Treble Choir.
The music students from VCHS, as well as high school auditionees from across the state of North Dakota, auditioned live before the ND All-State judges. Auditions included scale work, sight reading, etudes and performing a solo for the judges. The auditions are rigorous and only the best of the best high school students from the state of North Dakota are invited and then accepted to the All-State ensembles.

VCHS students were prepared for these auditions by Sheila Zinke and Tom Kjelland, VCHS choir and band directors. The All-State ensembles are conducted by nationally recognized conductors invited to do so by the North Dakota Music Educators Association.

The ND All-State rehearsals and Concert Hours (guest performing groups invited to play for the All-State students) will be held on March 22-24 at the Bismarck Event Center in Bismarck, ND. The final ensemble concerts will be held on Tuesday, March 24th. The All- State Treble choir will perform at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, March 24th. The All-State Mixed Choir will perform at 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, March 24th. The All-State Band will perform at 4:00 on Tuesday, March 24th.

Tickets for the All-State Concerts are available at the door of the Civic Center and are $10 each per concert. Valley City High School is proud of its students selected and know that VCHS will be well represented by our young people at the North Dakota All-State music festival!

By Tom Kjelland

L to R; Jonathan Redfearn, James Burk, Daniel Wintch, Elizabeth Gazeley, Taylen Mendoza & Britta Roehrich.
L to R; Owen Plagens, Theo Herzog.